< Back

11th October 2019, 08:24

Gibraltar Chronicle poll predicts clear GSLP/Liberal win & gives GSD six opposition seats with Hassan Nahon holding hers

A Gibraltar Chronicle poll has predicted another GSLP/Liberal win at next week's general election. Excluding blank votes and don't knows, which do not count towards the final result in an election, the face to face survey of 622 voters found that 63.5% would back the GSLP/Liberals, 21.7% the GSD and 14.1% Together Gibraltar. Independent candidates Robert Vasquez and JC Pons would secure 0.4% and 0.3% of the vote, respectively.

The Alliance list was topped by GSLP Leader Fabian Picardo, followed - in order of votes secured - by Liberal Leader Joseph Garcia, Sir Joe Bossano, John Cortes, Albert Isola, Gilbert Licudi, Samantha Sacramento, Steven Linares, Paul Balban and Vijay Daryanani.

If the poll proves to be accurate, current GSD MP Trevor Hammond would lose his seat to Damon Bossino, who slipped into the top slot, by one vote ahead of Keith Azopardi, followed by Daniel Feetham, Roy Clinton, Edwin Reyes and Elliott Phillips. 

As for Together Gibraltar, party leader Marlene Hassan Nahon would retain her seat, according to the paper's poll. But despite a strong third party result, the poll predicts she would be the only MP for her party.