< Back

7th March 2022, 20:16

The UK - and Gibraltar - included on Russia's list of countries taking "unfriendly actions" against it

The UK, and overseas territories including Gibraltar, is on a list of countries issued by the Russian government, described as "taking unfriendly actions against Russia, Russian companies, and citizens", according to reports in the international press.

The list, which also includes the United States, Canada, and the EU states, follows economic sanctions imposed on Russia due to its invasion of Ukraine.

A spokesperson for the Government of Gibraltar told GBC it was "unsurprising" to see Gibraltar included on the list, given - they said - that it had "followed and in some instances exceeded the sanctions imposed on Russia and its oligarchs and acolytes" by the UK and the EU.